Arnold Rubin Outstanding Publication Award

The Arnold Rubin Outstanding Book Award recognizes two categories of books: Single authored and multi-authored volumes.  Runners up are also awarded. This award is given for excellence in scholarship on the arts of Africa and the African Diaspora. It is offered triennially, by the Arts Council of the African Studies Association (ACASA) to a work of original scholarship and excellence in visual presentation that makes significant contribution to our understanding of African arts and material culture.

Eligible books must have been published (by official publication date or demonstrated public availability, if different) between September 1, 2016 and August 30, 2019.  No book will be considered for more than one award cycle.

Nominees must be ACASA members in good standing. Join ACASA Submissions must be received by November 15, 2019. To be considered, send three copies of the publication to:

Shannen Hill
7101 Bridle Path Lane
Hyattsville, MD 20782
(202) 633-4639

2017 Arnold Rubin Outstanding Publication Awards

Single Author:
Cécile Fromont
The Art of Conversion: Christian Visual Culture in the Kingdom of Kongo, Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture and the University of North Carolina Press, 2014.

Honorable Mention:
Chika Okeke-AguluPostcolonial Modernism: Art and Decolonization in Twentieth Century Nigeria, Duke University Press, 2015.

Multiple Authors:
Silvia Forni and Christopher Steiner (eds.). Africa in the Market: Twentieth-Century Art from the Amrad African Art Collection, ROM, 2015.

Alisa LaGammaKongo: Power and Majesty, MET, 2015.

››› View Past Arnold Rubin Outstanding Publication Award Winners ‹‹‹