ACASA Leadership Award

The Arts Council of the African Studies Association (ACASA) confers a Leadership Award upon an individual whose accomplishments best exemplify excellence in the study of African and/or African Diasporic arts and/or whose innovative contributions and vision have advanced the field. The Award is presented every three years at the Triennial Symposium of African Art Awards Ceremony, and consists of an appropriate memento, a citation, and a lifetime membership in ACASA.

Criteria for the Award are the distinction of contribution to the field of African and African Diasporic art, as measured by a lifetime of accomplishments in areas such as teaching, mentoring, research, curating, publishing, artistic expression, administration, and service to the field. In addition, the individual should have demonstrated generosity of spirit and collegiality. Candidates within and outside of the academic and museum communities are considered.

The Leadership Award Committee is composed of the Past President of ACASA, the recipient/s of the previous Leadership Award and four ACASA members (ranging from senior to mid-level and junior) designated by the ACASA Board of Directors. The Committee solicits recommendations through mail or electronic ballot from the ACASA membership and input from prominent scholars in the field. It composes a list of potential recipients and selects one or two leaders. The recommendation of the Committee is presented for final approval to the President of ACASA and the ACASA Board of Directors.

The names of candidates not selected for the award are kept by the past Chair of the Leadership Awards Committee and circulated to the Chair of the next ACASA Leadership Awards.


2017 ACASA Leadership Award Recipient
Mary (Polly) Nooter Roberts

2017 ACASA Leadership Award Recipient
Sidney Littlefield Kasfir

››› View Past ACASA Leadership Award Winners ‹‹‹